Welcome to mrjeffrey.com's Message Board. Beginning on March 19, 2009, you must post your first and last name, as well as the school you attend or for which you teach in order to use this message board. Otherwise, your post will be deleted. :)
American Mosaic Final Part II
IP: 163.150.137.112

Dear Ms Doyle,
I'm not sure if you know but I'm a foreign exchange student from Germany and was only in this class for the second semester.
When you first came in to this class I needed a few moments to figure out what this is about and why you're teaching us about unconscious bias and privileges, because I had no idea that here in America are still people who have an issue with African-Americans. Honestly, I was really surprised because I really thought that after the fights back in the days America was done with this topic and had moved on all together. I'm not saying there hasnít been any change since then but no one can say everything has changed.
I was pretty impressed what you taught us about privileges because I've never thought about it in the way like you told us. When all members of a society enjoy the same privilege, it is no longer a privilege because it has become an equal right for all members of the society. Or that when only certain members of society enjoy privileges it would create inequities.