This forum serves as the official message board for Ohio NSA Slow Pitch, and is primarily an NSA board. However all associations are welcome to post. Please don't abuse the privilege.

Ten Elected To 2016 Class of Ohio USSSA Hall of Fame; Induction Ceremonies Slated For December 4th i

Another class of ten distinguished slow pitch softball figures comprises the 2016 class of inductees into the Ohio USSSA Softball Hall of Fame.

Elected by the Ohio USSSA Board of Directors and being inducted are: Mr. Dana Andry from North Royalton; Mr. Mike Bartee from Springfield; Mr. Bob Darden from Beavercreek; Mr. George Fiejes from Akron; Mr. John Fleeman from Worthington; Ms. Sharon Graham from Alexandria, KY; Mr. Randy Kortokrax from Westerville; Mr. Bob Owens from Cincinnati; Ms. Brenda Ryan from Burlington, KY; and Mr. Billy Wilson from Sunbury.

The ten will be inducted during the 5th annual Ohio USSSA Hall of Fame ceremonies and banquet planned for Sunday, 4 December 2016 at Embassy Suites Columbus - Airport, located at 2886 Airport Drive, Columbus, OH, 43219.

This year’s class brings the Ohio USSSA Hall of Fame to a total of fifty distinguished members in the seven categories for outstanding contributions to USSSA softball in the State of Ohio.

Dana Andry, from North Royalton, played a 15-year career with some of the best known elite teams in N.E. Ohio softball most notably professional teams like Galati’s Jaybirds, the Cleveland Competitors, and Steele’s Sports.

In the Female Player Category, from Alexandria, KY, Ms. Sharon Graham played for such notable teams as Sweeney Chevrolet, Tri-State Action, Famous Recipe, Empress Chili, and Auto Body Panel, winning countless National Invitational Tournaments and three World titles.

Mr. Mike Bartee, from Springfield, has been involved in the game in numerous ways over more than 40 years. From player, to umpire, to tournament director, to USSSA Director, this Softball Legend has been involved in all aspects of the game.

Mr. George Fiejes, from Akron, was one of the best, and best known, softball umpires in Ohio USSSA history. Sought after for both his expertise and great attitude on the field, George worked World Tournaments at numerous levels of play, including Men’s AA/A, B, C, D, where his crews were consistently requested to work the finals.

Ms. Brenda Ryan, from Burlington, KY, is considered to be one of the most dominating players in Great Cincinnati women’s softball history.

Mr. Billy Wilson, from Sunbury, spent almost 40 years in the game, stepping away from competitive softball in 2007. He was an outstanding hitter, often in the leadoff position, with an approximate .750 lifetime average and was a great defense centerfielder for some of the Columbus area’s best known clubs. This included LaDolce Vita, Worthington Steel, Jequetas, Central Ohio Welders, and Wendy’s.

Mr. Bob Darden, a Virginia native now living in Beavercreek, has played, coached, sponsored, and served as a director. His playing days date back to 1965 and include both slow pitch and fast pitch. As Director, Bob and Vicki Darden are the cornerstones of one of the nation’s best youth programs, the Beavercreek Youth Softball Association, which has served more than 1000 kids each year for more than 20 years now.

Mr. Randy Kortokrax, from Westerville, is one of the state’s most celebrated male players. Playing a 25-year softball career for such marquee teams as R&D, Lovell Electric, Steele’s Sports, and Hague/Resmondo, Randy was versatile player in the field and an accomplished high-average hitter with power. .

Mr. Bob Owens, from Cincinnati, has been the manager of Expressway Park in Milford since the park opened in 1982. Under his direction, Expressway has been a showcase facility, distinguishing itself for is superior cleanliness, field conditions, field lighting, concessions, staff and umpiring

Mr. John Fleeman from Worthington has more than 40 years invested in and serving this game. John was a steady force on numerous Columbus-area teams including Linworth Merchants, Russo realty, Central Ohio Welding, and Sycamore Café.

Photos and extended bios for this class of Ohio USSSA Hall of Famers can be found at

This year’s Ohio USSSA Hall of Fame induction ceremonies and banquet affords an opportunity for softballers from around the State of Ohio to gather, enjoy the rich history of Ohio USSSA softball, and celebrate the worthy of inductees in the class of 2016.

Ceremonies begin at 1pm with a cocktail reception featuring a cash bar. The banquet begins at 2pm, with induction ceremonies immediately to follow.

Tickets for this event can be purchased for $45 each from the following:

Scott Kuhnen, P.O. Box 31038, Dayton, OH 45437 (937-429-0029)
Jerry Pinoni, 7810 Chicory St. Blacklick, OH 43004 (614-560-0625)
Mark Linnemann, P.O. Box 18153, Erlanger, KY 41018 (859-991-3860)

Tickets must be purchased in advance. Please send check made out to “Softball Hall of Fame” and tickets will be mailed to you.

We hope you will consider joining us at this special softball event to honor and congratulate our newest Ohio USSSA Hall of Fame inductees.

There have been no replies.

Post a reply:
bold italic underline left align right align center align url email image move quote horizontal rule

Link Name:
Link URL:
Image URL:
Password To Edit Post:
Check this box if you want to be notified via email when someone replies to your post.

Create Your Own Free Message Board or Free Forum!
Hosted By Boards2Go Copyright © 2000-2015
Our Sites: Wedding address collection  Wedding thank you wording