Tiger's Jai-Alai Chalk Talk
Discussion forum for Jai-Alai Heaven
Foro de la discusión para el Cielo de Cesta Punta

hits since 8/12/03

Chalk Talk Registration   Participación en Chalk Talk
Useful Links   Hall of Fame   Magic City scratches
Question of the Week Archive (10+ years)
Re(7): What makes Magic City so Appealing..Answer is easy....

Yes I have. I was first brought around Jai-Alai as a child at Orbea's and North Miami Jai-Alai in the 70's - my father started playing in 1965 and had a chance to play at Miami in 1968 but my grandparents refused (I was born in 1969). I started playing in the Miami Jai-Alai school in 1984 and continued pretty regularly through 1988 under Aperecio and then under Jose Barrena. I played amateur at that time as well, but avoided the leagues. My first job in Jai-Alai was working the counter for Howie at North Miami when I was 16 - sewing balls and clocking people on-and-off the courts. Though I was very much a part of the school I was never under any illusions about my abilities. I had a great serve (still "kinda" do), good carom & cortada. Always had problems catching and throwing rebote.